September 13, 2012
New national garden centre award program from Garden Centres Canada

Garden Centres Canada (GCC) has launched a new award to help better recognize the professional work of its retail members. This new program is open to CNLA members only. 

Retailers in all provinces without an existing garden centre awards program will submit entries for the Chrysler Garden Centre of the Year Award directly to CNLA. Landscape Ontario has an established Awards of Excellence program for retailers, so all winners from their Retail Awards of Excellence program will be offered the opportunity to enter the National Awards. However, they are required to have won a provincial award that year in order to be considered for entry. Landscape Ontario will send CNLA entry forms to all of its provincial winners. 

This new award has been designed to encourage participation from companies of all sizes. One overall winner will be selected each year, along with category winners. Companies will be judged on one or all the following criteria:Growing Teams
  • Growing Connections
  • Growing Sales
  • Growing Gardeners
  • Growing with Technology
  • Growing Environments
  • Continuous Growth
Detailed information on the entry criteria can be found at Deadline for all submissions is midnight, Friday, November 30, 2012.

The winner of the overall Garden Centre of the Year Award will be announced at the CNLA National Awards of Landscape Excellence, in Niagara Falls, Ont., in February 2013. Category winners will be notified and promoted at the awards ceremony, as well as in CNLA awards communications. The winner will also receive economy airfare for two, and two night’s accommodation at the Hilton Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. Winners will receive recognition through press releases, on the CNLA website and in its newsletter.